One Day International In 1992 World cup most important

South Africa and the infamous 1992 world cup

In south Africa ,Black and Colored players were not allowed to play in national side. In 1970, the International Cricket Council (ICC) banned South Africa from international cricket due to its apartheid policies. This ban meant that South Africa was not allowed to participate in any international cricket tournaments, including the Cricket World Cup.

In the late 1980s, significant changes occurred in South Africa, leading to the dismantling of apartheid. In 1991, the South African government officially repealed apartheid laws.

In 1991, the ICC decided to readmit South Africa to international cricket, and they were allowed to participate in the 1992 Cricket World Cup.

Infamous 1992 World Cup Semi-Final – South Africa vs. England: The semi-final of the 1992 World Cup, held at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on March 22, 1992, between South Africa and England, is remembered for the infamous rain-rule controversy.

England batted first and scored 252/6 in their 45 overs. In the chase, South Africa needed 22 runs from 13 balls when rain interrupted the match. When play resumed, the controversial rain rule was applied, and South Africa’s revised target became 22 runs from just 1 ball.

The Rain Rule Controversy: The rain rule used in the 1992 World Cup , which was a complex method to adjust target scores based on overs played and run rate. It was criticized for producing unfair results.

The rain rule controversy in the semi-final match sparked widespread criticism and led to calls for a more transparent and fair method for adjusting targets in rain-affected matches which led to the introduction of Duckworth lewis system

Late 1990s to early 2000s

After windies era, several other nations made strides in the game which includes:-

Pakistan emerged as a strong cricketing nation during this period. Led by Imran Khan and later by Wasim Akram, they won the 1992 Cricket World Cup.

Sri Lanka achieved notable success, winning the 1996 Cricket World Cup under Arjuna Ranatunga’s captaincy. The team, led by talents like Aravinda de Silva, Sanath Jayasuriya, and Muttiah Muralitharan, played aggressive cricket.

England's ODI Resurgence:

 England, once known for their traditional Test cricket approach, underwent a transformation in limited-overs cricket. Under the leadership of Eoin Morgan, England’s ODI team adopted an aggressive and fearless brand of cricket, leading them to their maiden ICC Cricket World Cup triumph in 2019. The final against New Zealand was an unforgettable encounter that went down 

New Zealand robbed of world cup

In the greatest ODI match of all time, Kiwis and England in the World Cup final.The match resulted in 2 ties – 241 vs 241 in the 50-over component of the match , which was then followed by a tie in the super over. And as per ICC rules, a winner had to be decided at this point and so it was England who triumphed.

New Zealand lost because of 2 illogical rules and an incorrect decision by the umpires.


The controversy begin on the third-last ball of the final over. England needed 9 runs off 3 balls. Stokes drove the ball into mid-wicket. Guptill fielded the ball and threw it back to the striker’s end as Stokes was returning to complete a second run; however, as Stokes dived for the crease, the ball deflected off his bat and to the boundary behind the wicket, resulting in four runs being added to the two that Stokes had run.

The game went to super which again got tied and England were declared as world champions due to boundary rule (boundary rule means that in case of a tie in super over, the team which hit most boundary will be declared as winners).

These two rules came under heavy criticism as they are considered as illogical. Also umpire agreed to a mistake when he awarded England 6 runs instead of 5 which will keep Adil Rashid on strike.

Ben Stokes the Finisher

Ben Stokes, the English all-rounder, has earned a reputation as one of the greatest finishers in modern cricket. He is known for his ability to step up and deliver under pressure, turning the tide of matches with his exceptional batting and match-winning performances. The biggest examples of this are 

Headingley Miracle (2019 Ashes): One of the most iconic moments in cricket history came during the third Test of the Ashes series in 2019. England was chasing an improbable target of 359 to win, and they found themselves reeling at 286-9. Ben Stokes, with Jack Leach as his partner, played a phenomenal innings. He single-handedly took on the Australian bowling attack and kept England’s hopes alive. In the end, Stokes’ unbeaten 135 secured a historic one-wicket win for England, cementing his status as a true cricketing hero. This test is also considered as one the best tests to be ever played due to stokes heroics.

2019 world cup final- At one point, England found themselves in a difficult position as they were chasing 242 against new zealand at 86/4, with several top-order batsmen back in the pavilion.

Stokes, along with Jos Buttler, began the rescue mission for England. They took their time to rebuild the innings, rotating the strike and keeping the scoreboard ticking.

As the match approached its climax, England required 54 runs off the last five overs. The equation boiled down to 15 runs needed off the last over to win and stokes managed to tie the match and winning it in super over for England

Inaugural World Test Championship

In  October 2017, the ICC announced that a Test , which would involve the top nine teams playing series over two years with the top two teams qualifying for a World Test League Championship Final

The inaugural ICC World Test Championship, was played from 18 to 23 June 2021 at the Southampton, England, between India and New Zealand. It was initially scheduled for five days, but due to rain interruptions ,the planned reserve day was used and New Zealand won the match by eight wickets to be crowned as the winners of the ICC World Test Championship.

As a passionate cricket fan, it’s always a joy to recount the incredible journey of the sport through various eras and iconic moments. From the early history of cricket to the rise of giants like Australia and the dominance of West Indies, from the unforgettable T20 World Cup win of 2007 to the dramatic finish of the 2019 World Cup final, cricket has given us moments of triumph, heartbreak, and sheer excitement.

As the cricketing world continues to evolve, new talents like Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, and Kane Williamson emerge, carrying the legacy of the game forward. The T20 format brings exhilarating action, and cricket continues to reach new heights of popularity.

 From the masterful strokes of Sachin Tendulkar to the fiery spells of Wasim Akram and the big-hitting of Chris Gayle, every cricketer has contributed to the glorious tapestry of the sport.

As cricket fans, we eagerly await the next chapter of this game. We look forward to witnessing the rise of new stars, the thrill of close contests, and the solidarity that unites cricket lovers worldwide.

So, as we conclude this cricketing journey, let us remember the names, the moments, and the emotions that cricket has given us. Let us cherish the legends who graced the field and the underdogs who defied the odds. Cricket, in all its glory, will continue to enthrall us and inspire generations to come. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *